Board of Trustees

Honorary Degree Recipients

Honorary Degree Recipients, 2023

The Board of Trustees represents the diverse constituencies the seminary serves. Its 32 members include business leaders, alumni/ae, faculty, students, and (ex officio) the Bishop of the Diocese of Connecticut. Trustees are from across the country, just like our seminarians.

The board meets three times each year, most often at Yale. The board conducts its work through 5 standing committees:

  • Audit & Compliance
  • Advancement
  • Finance
  • Governance
  • Program & Life

The board seeks prospective members committed to promoting the seminary’s spiritual and intellectual life. Board members work to support Berkeley as a unique resource for theological education and formation in the Episcopal Church.

On behalf of the seminary, the board confers honorary degrees each year on persons whose personal and professional lives exhibit “outstanding accomplishments in the fields of public service, social justice, education and the arts, parish or diocesan leadership, or related areas affecting the Anglican Communion and Episcopal Church.”

Recipients include 

  • Rowan Williams (104th Archbishop of Canterbury)
  • Vicentia Kgabe (Bishop of Lesotho)
  • Jeffrey Mello (Bishop of Connecticut)
  • Matthew Heyd (Bishop Coadjutor of New York)
  • Mary Kate Wold, (CEO and President of the Church Pension Group)
  • Peter Hawkins (distinguished scholar and long-time YDS professor)
  • Victoria Matthews (Bishop of Christchurch, New Zealand)
  • Griselda Delgado del Carpio (Bishop of Cuba)
  • Martin Seely (Bishop of St. Edmundsbury and Ipswich, and Chair of the Ministry Council, Church of England).

Board of Trustees


  • James Elrod ’17, Riverside, CT, Chair
  • Linda K. Lorimer ’77 JD, New Haven, CT, Vice-Chair, Secretary
  • Charles M. Royce, Greenwich, CT, Vice-Chair
  • The Rev. G. Hartwell Hylton ’15, Darien, CT, Chair, Finance
  • The Very Rev. Dr. Andrew B. McGowan, New Haven, CT, Dean and President
  • *The Rev. Clayton Thomason, Chicago, IL, Assistant Secretary
  • *L. Francis Huck, Darien, CT, Counsel
  • Dr. Emily Bakemeier, New Haven, CT
  • The Rev. Dr. Andrew Barnett, Atlanta, GA
  • Thomas Berardino, New Canaan, CT
  • Richard Chilton, Darien, CT
  • Silvia Ortiz Gosnell ’18, ’86 JD, ’83 BA, Cambridge, MA
  • The Rev. Gary Jones ’85, Richmond, VA
  • The Hon. Margaret Marshall, Boston, MA
  • Dr. Donyelle McCray, New Haven, CT
  • The Rt. Rev. Jeffrey Mello, Meriden, CT
  • The Rev. Dr. Hugh Page, Mishawaka, IN
  • The Rev. Dr. Carol Pinkham Oak ’85, Southold, NY
  • The Rev. Yolanda Rolle ’15, Boston, MA
  • The Rev. Tracy Johnson Russell ’95, Hartford, CT
  • Christina Rutland ’25, New Haven, CT
  • The Rev. Richardson Schell ’76, Kent, CT
  • Dr. Westina Matthews Shatteen, Savannah, GA
  • Dr. Gregory Sterling, New Haven, CT
  • Dr. Heather Tookes, New Haven, CT
  • Clyde Tuggle ’88, Atlanta, GA
  • Tommy Watson ’24, New Haven, CT
  • Caroline Williamson, New York, NY
  • The Rev. Dr. Dwight Zscheile ’98, Minneapolis, MN

*Denotes officer who is not a trustee.

Capital Campaign

  • Frances Rowland, Campaign Chair, Westport, CT

Honorary Trustees

  • Carl T. Anderson ’15, Los Angeles, CA, Chair Emeritus