The Board of Trustees of the Berkeley Divinity School is widely representative of the diverse constituencies served by the seminary throughout the Episcopal Church. Its thirty-two members include business and professional leaders of national stature, alumni/ae serving the church in a variety of significant capacities, faculty, representatives of the university, students, and (ex officio) the Bishop of the Diocese of Connecticut. Trustees are drawn from across the country, in keeping with the national spectrum of the School’s student body.

The Board meets three times each year, twice in New Haven and once in New York. It conducts its work primarily through five standing committees: Finance, Development, Trusteeship, Program and Life, and Audit. The Board seeks in prospective members persons committed to promoting the seminary’s spiritual and intellectual life in service to the Episcopal Church, and who will work to support it as a unique resource for theological education and formation.

Acting on behalf of the School, the Board confers honorary degrees each year on persons whose personal and professional lives exhibit “outstanding accomplishments in the fields of public service, social justice, education and the arts, parish or diocesan leadership, or related areas affecting the Anglican Communion and Episcopal Church.” Recent recipients include Jon Meacham (Managing Editor of Newsweek), Sandra Swan (Director of Episcopal Relief and Development), Curtis Almquist (Superior of the Society of St. John the Evangelist), Robin Eames (Archbishop of Armagh), William Anderson (Executive Director of the Episcopal Church Foundation), Phyllis Tickle (author and contributing editor to Publishers Weekly), and Gretchen Pritchard (founding editor of The Sunday Paper).

Here are members of the current Board of Trustees:

David R. Wilson, Mattapoisett, Massachusetts, Chair
The Very Rev. Stephen Carlsen, Indianapolis, Indiana, Vice Chair
David Hyduke, Minneapolis, Minnesota, Vice Chair for Financial Affairs
The Very Rev. Andrew B. McGowan, New Haven, Connecticut, Dean and President
The Rev. Clayton Thomason ‘90, Chicago, Illinois, Secretary

Emily Bakemeier, New Haven, Connecticut
Carolyn Daniels, Denver, Colorado
The Rt. Rev. Ian Douglas ‘10 HON, Meriden, Connecticut
The Rev. Henry (Chip) Edens ‘96, Charlotte, North Carolina
The Rev. Darren Elin ‘98, Terrace Park, Ohio
The Rev. Whitney Z. Edwards ‘07, Richmond, Virginia
Howard Greene, Westport, Connecticut
G. William Haas, New York, New York
The Rev. Geoffrey Hoare ‘82, Washington, D.C.
The Rev. Stephen Huber ‘98, Beverly Hills, California
Stuart Kensinger, Houston, Texas
James D. Klote, Falls Church, Virginia
Andrew Kyrzak ‘17, New Haven, Connecticut
The Rev. James B. Lemler, Greenwich, Connecticut
Peggy Lo ‘17, New Haven, Connecticut
Linda K. Lorimer, New Haven, Connecticut
Frances Rowland, Westport, Connecticut
Charles Royce, Greenwich, Connecticut
The Rev. Dr. Carolyn Sharp ‘94, Old Saybrook, Connecticut
Chloe Starr, New Haven, Connecticut
Dean Gregory Sterling, New Haven, Connecticut
Paul Rexford Thatcher Sr., Minneapolis, Minnesota

Judy Holding, Darien, Connecticut, Chaplain

Honorary Trustees

Carl T. Anderson ‘15, Los Angeles, California, Chair Emeritus
David H. Crandall ‘99, Norwalk, Connecticut, Chair Emeritus
George A. Fowlkes ‘99, New York, New York, Chair Emeritus
Christian Sonne ‘04, Tuxedo Park, New York
The Rt. Rev. Arthur E. Walmsley ‘80, Deering, New Hampshire